NASHVILLE, Tenn. — The American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) named North Dakota State head football coach Matt Entz the AFCA Coach of the Year for the Division I Football Championship Subdivision on Tuesday, Jan. 14, at the Gaylord Opryland Resort and Convention Center.

Entz, a first-year head coach after spending five seasons as NDSU's defensive coordinator, led the Bison to a 16-0 overall record, a ninth straight Missouri Valley Football Conference championship and a third consecutive FCS national title, the program's eighth in the last nine seasons.

He was also the MVFC coach of the year and finished second in the national media voting for the STATS FCS Eddie Robinson Award.

The Bison have won an FCS record 37 games in a row. NDSU is the first college football team since the Yale Bulldogs in 1894 to have a 16-0 season.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Entz is the fourth coach to win AFCA National Coach of the Year honors in their first season. Miami (Fla.) head coach Larry Coker (FBS, 2001), Valdosta State's David Dean (Division II, 2007) and Richmond's Mike London (FCS, 2008) also earned the honors in their first year at the helm.

NDSU is tied for second all-time with seven AFCA Coach of the Year winners. Previous honorees include Don Morton (1983), Earle Solomonson (1986), Rocky Hager (1988, 1990) and Craig Bohl (2012, 2013).

AFCA Coach of the Year winners are chosen by a vote of active AFCA members at four-year schools in each division. Minnesota State-Mankato's Todd Hoffner was the Division II winner, Muhlenberg's Nate Milne won in Division III and Morningside's Steve Ryan was the NAIA winner.