BISMARCK — High school golfers from Fargo Shanley, Fargo Oak Grove and South Border were leaders Tuesday after the first day of the North Dakota Spring State High School Championships at Riverwood Golf Course.

Shanley’s Jacob Skarperud carded a 72 to take the first-day lead by five strokes in the Class A boys division. Oak Grove’s Grayson Wetch carded a 72 to also take a first-day lead by five strokes in the Class B boys division.

South Border’s Emily St. Aubin, who has won the last four Class B girls state championships, carded a 76 to take a first-day lead by four strokes over Avery Bartels of Kindred.

The tournament, put together to replace the canceled spring high school events, concludes Wednesday.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts



1. Jacob Skarperud, Fargo Shanley, 72. 2. Zach Hinschberger, Grand Forks Red River; Justin Lamp, Fargo Davies; Max Karnik, Fargo Davies; Saylor Kuenzel, Grand Forks Red River; and Gavin Argent, Minot, 77. 7. Koby Kuenzel, Grand Forks Red River; Ty Satter, Fargo Davies; and Sam Suppes, Fargo Davies, 78.

10. Alex Wilson, Bismarck St. Mary’s; Bridger Hansen, Wahpeton; Zach Teske, West Fargo; Brandon McGarry, Grand Forks Central, 79. 14. Carter Peratt, Fargo North, 80. 15. Gabe Benson, Fargo Davies, 81. 16. Bennett Persoon, West Fargo Sheyenne; Cameron Bullinger, Fargo Davies; Trey Hohbein, Mandan, 82. 19. Blaze Ackerland, West Fargo Sheyenne; Tyce Halter, Bismarck; Brady McGarry, Grand Forks Central; Grant Gardner, Grand Forks Red River; Jayme French, West Fargo Sheyenne, 83.

24. Jackson Gilchrist, Bismarck St. Mary’s; James Powers, Williston; Aaron Melby, Fargo North; Layton Bartley, West Fargo Sheyenne; Sam Peterson, Mandan, 84. 29. Peyton Bartsch, Minot; Jack Steckler, Bismarck; Jayce Johnson, Fargo Davies; Henry Langhans, Minot; Evan Booth, Fargo South; Drew Nelson, Fargo North, 85.

35. Andrew Walz, Jamestown; Neal Lindemoen, Fargo Shanley; Jack Miller, Grand Forks Red River; Ryan Drummond, Fargo Davies, 86. 39. Logan Schoepp, Bismarck Century, 87.

40. Jack Bryan, Grand Forks Central; Logan Barrett, Bismarck Legacy; Ian Jelsing, Bismarck, 88. 43. Brock Jones, Minot; Zach Skarperud, Fargo Shanley; Adam Moch, Mandan, 89. 46. Sean Seefield, Mandan; Zach Lafromboise, Grand Forks Red River; Ethan Frisch, West Fargo Sheyenne; Jack Homiston, Dickinson; Tarin Walker, Bismarck; Jed Truex, Jamestown, 90.

52. Jacob Theis, Minot, 91. 53. Dexter England, Fargo North, 92. 54. Kade Rohlfs, Bismarck; Jace Elkin, Dickinson; Ashton Heilman, Minot, 93. 57. Dalton Booth, Fargo South, 94. 58. Max Murphy-Schumacher, Bismarck Century; Jayce Johnson, Mandan, 95.

60. Dylan Nosbusch, Bismarck Century; Dylan Bader, Bismarck St. Mary’s, 96. 62. Carson Hannestad, Fargo North, 97. 63. Aiden Rustand, Williston; Kaden Hoffman, Bismarck Legacy, 98.

65. Kyller Hughes, Dickinson, 100. 66. Grant Bittner, Dickinson, 101. 67. Nick Kupfer, Bismarck Legacy, 102. 68. Darynt Carroll, Jamestown; Andrew Neigum, Bismarck Legacy, 104.


1. Grayson Wetch, Fargo Oak Grove, 72. 2. Jacob Robb, Heart River and Sam Henke, Kindred, 77. 4. Paul Olson, Kindred; Cody Card, Fargo Oak Grove and Mark Olson, Kindred, 78. 7. Jaden McCloud, Bottineau, 79. 8. Max McQuillan, Kindred; Zach Hendrickson, Minot Our Redeemers, and Rory Gentzkow, LaMoure, 81.

11. Max Palmer, Bottineau, 82. 12. Zach St. Aubin, South Border, 83. 13. Gehrig Geiss, Western Morton County; Cole Fitterer, Dickinson Trinity; Champ Hettich, Beulah; Parker Bartels, Kindred; and Dillon Norman, Larimore, 84. 18. Sid Ulyott, Langdon, 85. 19. Mason Wick, Hazen; Drew Nichols, North Star; Cole Campbell, Kindred, 86; Nic Dale, Mayville-Portland-CG, 86.

23. Jordan Anderson, Glenburn and Brock Woehl, Kindred, 87. 25. Ian Sanders, Fargo Oak Grove; Cade Fitterer, Dickinson Trinity; and Luke Andersonk Glenburn, 88. 28. Tyler Brousseau, Dickinson Trinity, 89. 29. Aiden McLain, Grafton, and Jaxon Fike, Fessenden, 90.

31. Jake Mitchell, Rolla, and Nathan Ferm, Des Lacs Burlington, 91. 33. Grant Gerving, Western Morton County; Eli Heyen, Bowman; and Karsen Kulseth, Bowman, 93. 36. Kolbi Rolle, South Prairie, and Charlie Bowman, LaMoure, 94. 38. Logan Elick, Rolla, and Tyson Wick, Hazen, 95.

40. Joseph Fode, Linton, and Rylen Soupir, Western Morton County, 97. 42. Kelby Azure, Northwood; Chris Schneider, Dickinson Trinity; and Jeremiah Hill, Cando, 98. 45. Nick Fagerberg, Heart River, 100. 46. Josh Hetzel, Stanley, and Kaden Pederson, Tioga, 102. 48. Karter Longie, Tioga, 103. 49. Joe Kramlich, Kulm, and Andre Elick, Rolla, 104.

51. Zach Barbot, Bottineau, 105. 52. Dane Lebahn, LaMoure, and Carter Eide, Des Lacs Burlington, 106. 54. Mason Martinson, Fargo Oak Grove, 107. 55. Carson Huerer, Bottineau, and Elijah Miller, Des Lacs Burlington, 110. 57. Max Lefor, Dickinson Trinity, 115. 58. Riley Eide, Des Lacs-Burlington, 116.


1. Emily St. Aubin, South Border, 76. 2. Avery Bartels, Kindred, 80. 3. Ainsley McClain, Grafton, 83. 4. Campbell Clarys, South Heart, 84. 5. Grace Nantt, South Heart; Erin Kelsch, Linton, 91. 7. Ashley Schmitt, Napoleon; Gracie Tjernlund, Kulm, 92. 9. Mackenzee Schneider, South Heart; Madisen Jarrett, South Heart, 94.

11. Kathleen Vetter, Linton; Charli McQuillan, Kindred, 95. 13. Libby Dulmage, Leeds, 99. 14. Charmaine Haas, Napoleon, 100. 15. Alexis Lamb, Beach, 102. 16. Carlee Sieben, Grafton, 103. 17. Emma Ketterling, Napoleon; Madilyn Dulmage, Leeds, 104. 19. Sophie Ketterling, Napoleon; Joslyn Nordmark, Rolla, 107.

21. Hailee Miller, Nedrose, 109. 22. Carmen Elick, Rolla, 110. 23. McKenzie Haas, Napoleon, 113. 24. Marti Mcbery, Rolla, 122. 25. Chloe Carr, Tioga, 124.