North's Sem, Davies' Klabo earn North Dakota Class A boys 1st-team, all-state honors

Fargo North junior Jeremiah Sem helped lead the Spartans to the Class A boys basketball state championship and was named the state tournament MVP.

Fargo North's Jeremiah Sem is mobbed by fans after the win over Grand Forks Red River in the North Dakota Class A state high school boys basketball tournament championship game at the Scheels Center on Saturday, March 11, 2023.
David Samson/The Forum

FARGO — Fargo North junior Jeremiah Sem capped his notable state tournament performance with a statewide honor.

The 6-foot-3 guard was a North Dakota Class A boys basketball first-team, all-state selection on the heels of helping lead the Spartans to a state championship.

“It was a beautiful way to end the season for us, a beautiful way for Jeremiah to be recognized across the state as one of the top players in the state as a junior," said North head coach Travis Hoeg.

Minot guard Darik Dissette and Fargo Davies guard Mason Klabo also made the first team as unanimous selections. Dickinson guard Alex Dvorak and Bismarck Century center Ryan Erikson rounded out the five-player first team.

More from Eric Peterson
Images from the North Dakota state girls soccer tournament at Fargo Davies.
Images from the North Dakota Class A state softball tournament at Tharaldson Park.
Images from the Class A state baseball semifinals at Young Field in West Fargo.
Right-handed pitcher Reid Birlingmair has his contract transferred to the Texas Rangers organization after a strong start to the season with the Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks.
Images from the first round of the North Dakota Class A state softball tournament at Tharaldson Park in Fargo.
Images from the opening round of the state girls soccer tournament.
Images from the quarterfinals of the North Dakota Class A state baseball tournament in West Fargo.
The Hawley (Minn.) High School graduate announced Thursday he was retiring from pro football.
Minnesota State Moorhead has added three transfer players to its roster this offseason, including Ja'Kair Sanchez, who played for Roberts Wesleyan in Rochester, N.Y., last season.
The Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks are set to celebrate last season's American Association baseball championship on their home-opening game.

Sem was named the most valuable player at the state tournament, scoring 28 points in a 92-83 victory against Grand Forks Red River in the title game to lead the Spartans to their first state crown since 2006.


“I think everybody knew what kind of an electric offensive player he was, but I think at the state tournament especially, he showcased what he could do defensively," Hoeg said.

Sem averaged 26.6 points, 6 rebounds and 2.8 assists per game. He was second-team all-state as a sophomore. He has 1,467 career points.

“He’s a guy who can create his own shot, he’s really hard to guard 1-on-1," Hoeg said. "He’s so good with the ball in his hands.”

Fargo Davies' Mason Klabo passes against Grand Forks Red River during their boys basketball game Tuesday, Jan. 24, 2023, at Davies.
Michael Vosburg/Forum Communications Co.

Klabo averaged 27.5 points and 5.3 assists per game to earn first-team all-state honors for a second consecutive season. The 6-foot-1 sophomore missed the postseason due to injury.

“He’s already done some very special things in a young career," said Davies head coach Bart Manson. “He still has two more seasons to put his mark on North Dakota basketball."

Klabo had a 45-point game during his freshman season and a 47-point effort as a sophomore. He has more than 1,200 career points with two varsity seasons remaining.

"He’s a special player and he’s a special person, too," Manson said. "You’re going to see a lot more great things from him in the next two years.”

Dissette, Dvorak and Erikson — all seniors — were Mr. Basketball finalists. Dissette, who has signed to play men's basketball at North Dakota State, won the award that goes to the top senior player in the state.


Minot High School senior Darik Dissette (13) has been named North Dakota Mr. Basketball for 2023. Dissette has signed to play at North Dakota State.
David Samson/The Forum

Here is the second team:

  • Conner Kraft, Fargo Shanley
  • Zachary Kraft, Grand Forks Red River
  • Anthony Doppler, Bismarck Century
  • Reis Rowekamp, Grand Forks Red River
  • James Hamilton, Fargo South
  • Hudsen Sheldon, Mandan
  • Isiah St. Romain, Williston
  • Parker Wallette, Belcourt
Peterson covers college athletics for The Forum, including Concordia College and Minnesota State Moorhead. He also covers the Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks independent baseball team and helps out with North Dakota State football coverage. Peterson has been working at the newspaper since 1996.
What To Read Next
Get Local