Shanley's Skarperud, Oak Grove's Card finalists for Mr. Golf Award

Fargo Shanley's Jake Skarperud and Fargo Oak Grove's Cody Card among finalists for the 1st North Dakota Mr. Golf and Wahpeton's Anaka Lysne a finalist for Ms. Golf.

Stock Image / Pixabay

FARGO — Fargo Shanley's Jake Skarperud and Fargo Oak Grove's Cody Card were named two of three finalists for the inaugural North Dakota Mr. Golf Award that will be presented by the Dakota Junior Golf Association next week.

Skarperud and Card were joined on the ballot by Bismarck Century's Logan Schoepp. Meanwhile, two finalists were named for the Ms. Golf award: Wahpeton's Anaka Lysne and Heart River's Grace Nantt.

The winners will be announced Saturday at the Russ Newman Junior Invitational in Fargo. The award is voted on by a committee consisting of media members, former PGA professionals and high school coaches.

The award recognizes accomplishments in both the high school and summer golf seasons.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "staff." Often, the "staff" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What To Read Next
Get Local