WATCH: Four Minnesota section football champs crowned

Highlights from the first day of section title games at the FargoDome.

Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton quarterback Owen Leach leaps past East Grand Forks' Ryan Taylor in the Section 8 3A championship game at the Fargodome on Thursday, Nov. 3, 2022.
David Samson/The Forum
We are part of The Trust Project.

FARGO — Four Minnesota football teams punched their ticket to the state tournament Thursday in section championship games at the FargoDome. All four teams won back-to-back titles.

In Section 6 9-man, Blackduck took a 14-12 lead in the second quarter, but Fertile-Beltrami scored 34 unanswered points to win 46-14.

In Section 8 9-man, Goodridge-Grygla-Gatzke and Kittson County Central entered the fourth quarter tied 14-14, but Kittson County pulled away for a 35-20 win.

In Section 8A, Mahnomen-Waubun controlled the time of possession and kept the Red Lake County offense at bay in a 32-0 shutout win.

In Section 8AAA, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton took a 7-0 lead in the second quarter. East Grand Forks answered with 12 seconds left in the game, attempted a two-point conversion, but could not convert as D-G-F held on for a 7-6 win.


Watch five more MSHSL section championship games Friday on WDAY Xtra and WDAY Sports+ , along with a North Dakota state semifinal.

Cullen Holt is a sports anchor and reporter for WDAY News, while handling play-by-play duties for high school and select college sports.
What To Read Next
Area boys and girls scores and stats.
Area girls scores and stats.
At its board of directors meeting Thursday, the MSHSL approved a switch in the number of weight classes in wrestling and voted on a proposal to seed all eight teams in football state tournaments.
Minnesota State Moorhead announced 34 football signings Wednesday on national signing day.